Don’t mention the crisis

Last week I read Michael Herzfeld’s narrative in Anthropology Today. For the ones who aren’t familiar with this work, he has conducted ethnographic fieldwork in Greece, and his article is about his latest experiences in Greece: being mugged, and his observations on the Summer riots in the centre of the capital, Athens.

It’s worth reading his article. I have asked him for permission to upload it on my blog, but I haven’t heard from him yet; I hope he will forgive me for not waiting any longer, but some news should be read when they are still fresh. As of 20/10, Michael Herzfeld replied to me. Following his e-mail, he has no legal rights on the article; he advised me to ask permission from Anthropology Today magazine. I haven’t done so, I decided to put the article on here and if there are any problems, I will take it down.

It wouldn’t come as a surprise the fact that I could sit here and write thousands of narratives from my personal experiences in Athens – or in Greece generally. Several good, fewer bad. I am slightly disappointed that Herzfeld’s article was a yet negative approach on the Greek crisis. Why is everyone so surprised? Greece may be biologically million years old: philosophy, technology, mathematics, arts, architecture, music, commerce, imperialism (sic), you name it, we were famous for it. However, socially, as a Democratic state, the Third Hellenic Republic (1975)  is less than 40-odd years old, bearing in mind that we were previously ruled by a dictator and later, monarchs. In this sense, Greece is undergoing middle-life crisis. Fits with the events and all.

I know this observation doesn’t really help, but I’m pretty certain some of you will recognise my sarcasm – and if you know me well, then yes, well… Obviously you understand and are following me.

However, why doesn’t anyone write a positive approach – and furthermore, publish it? All I see published, even on the Internet, are either negatively driven essays of any kind, or ethnocentric videos advertising the beauty of Hellas. Where’s everyone else hiding? Come out!

I’ll just leave you with my latest composition. It’s (yet) another song about trouble – this is what I’m called in the library as well.

2 thoughts on “Don’t mention the crisis

Leave a Reply

