Teaching: Pathways Programme at Oxford

Yesterday I had the chance to teach two class sessions at St. Peter’s College on the subject of “social sciences”. Pathways programme aims to reach out to schools with little history of Oxbridge success. Imagine an open day event, at Oxford, going to one hour lectures, getting the vibe of the city, checking out the colleges. It sounds great, I wish I could have done that when I was at school.

I gave a presentation to about 30 school kids divided in 2 sessions. I mostly talked about social sciences, and more importantly anthropology, introduced myself and my research, and told them what I have learnt so far in my life:

1) The only limit is yourself.

2) Our greatest glory is not in never failing, but in rising every time we fail (Confucius).

I think these two ideas are more important than the main body of my presentation. I hope few of them will remember them in the future.

And of course, everyone out there that feels they’ve failed in something. All the best to my friend K. I hope you rise sooner than you expect!

Leave a Reply

