Second Circuit-Bending attempt: Bent!

After my first unsuccessful attempt I was very disappointed. But the same afternoon, I hit the shops to buy a new toy piano! I couldn’t find the same one, so I got a Karaoke toy piano.

Once I opened it, I first added the output 1/4 jack, then an on/off switch. But I didn’t know what to do with the trashy microphone it had on. I thought I could use it and add an overdrive effect I made previously, but I didn’t quite like the idea.

Last night I was performing with my band Drama Queen. We mainly play a mixture of darkwave/post-punk/alternative rock thing. Before this, I performed a cover song, ‘Garlans’ by Cocteau Twins with my two project musicians, Lily Vizien (violin) and Playsk00l (cello), plus a newest addition, Gameboy with Nanoloop software on. You can see the result on youtube:

So, today it occurred to me: why not add an input RCA for my GameBoy? In this way I can use it through the toy piano and perform them both at the same time.

And so it happened and I’m proud to present GAMETOY! I also put a volume potentiometer so I can manage GameBoy’s output.

gametoygametoyback

And you can download an MP3 sample song here.

I think this is good for a start. I’ve got more ideas on what other stuff to do, but I think I’ll keep it this way as I need to focus on my dissertation! Gametoy will be presented as part of it though.

2 thoughts on “Second Circuit-Bending attempt: Bent!

  1. Καλά πόσο γαμάει το θέμα.. ωραίο το κομμάτι, αλλά δε φαίνεται ευδιάκριτα το πως (αν) χειρίζεσαι το GAMETOY… μπορείς να μους πεις και μένα πως να φλιπάρω και το δικό μου, γιατί ένας #$@#^@ μου το είχε ρίξει κάτω και τα ‘παιξε η οθόνη του.. οπότε μπορώ να αξιοποιήσω το ηχείο του….

    ρε πόσα χρόνια σκέφτομαι τις μουσικές του GAMEBOY.. απο το Τέτρις και το Gargoyle.. έχουν χαραχτεί μέσα μου και τις τραγουδάω ακόμα σε στιγμές…

    θα τα πούμε σίγουρα στο επόμενο λάιβ…
    (ωραίο πρότζεκτ)

  2. Ναι το χειρίζομαι – ακούγεται μόνο αν προσέξεις τις αλλαγές του pattern. Θέλω να ανεβάσω video αλλά χρειάζομαι ένα καλώδιο συγκεκριμένο για να συνδέσω gameboy-mac.
    Τι θες να φτιάξεις; Το GameBoy ή κάποιο toy piano;

    Αυτές οι μουσικές των βιντεοπαιχνιδιών είναι ένα μεγάλο θέμα με το οποίο έχουν ασχοληθεί πολλοί (έχω άρθρα αν θες). Είναι κλασική περίπτωση ανάκλησης παιδικής μνήμης μιας κατάστασης που έχει ενσωματωθεί στο άκουσμα των συγκεκριμένων μουσικών.

    Άντε να ρθεις στο επόμενο (ούτε ξέρω πότε θα είναι..)

Leave a Reply

